Designs of the Year Awards Seven Category Winners Announced

The Design Museum contenders for the sixth annual Designs of the Year award have been announced. They cover seven categories and include the best designs from around the world in the last 12 months covering, Architecture, Digital, Fashion, Furniture, Graphics, Product and Transport. Selected by a panel of distinguished nominators, the awards compile the most original and exciting designs, prototypes and designers in the world today – brought together in a Design Museum exhibition from 20 March – 7 July 2013. This competition has been deemed the Design Oscars and is one of the most prestigious awards of its kind in the world.

The seven category winners include GOV.UK, a new British government website which promises to revolutionise governmental online communications, bringing together different government websites into one single site making it a much easier and user friendly service. Other winners include the renovation and reimagining of a faded 1960’s tower block in Paris, a landmark documentary an fashion icon Diana Vreeland, a reinvention of the wheel in the form of a unique folding wheel which can be applied to bicycles and wheelchairs and a chair constructed using the latest computer technology.

London 10 April 2013: The Design Museum announces the seven category winners for the annual Designs of the Year Awards. The awards celebrate the best of international design from the last 12 months. The overall winner for the Design of The Year 2013 will be announced on Tuesday 16 April at an awards evening held at The Angler, South Place Hotel, London.

The Seven Category winners are:

Architecture: TOUR BOIS-LE-PRÊTRE, PARIS – Designed by Frédéric Druot, Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal

Digital: GOV.UK WEBSITE – Designed by Government Digital Service

Fashion: DIANA VREELAND: THE EYE HAS TO TRAVEL – Directed by Lisa Immordino Vreeland

Furniture: MEDICI CHAIR – Designed by Konstantin Grcic for Mattiazzi

Graphics: VENICE ARCHITECTURE BIENNALE IDENTITY – Designed by John Morgan Studio

Products: KIT YAMOYO – Designed by ColaLife and PI Global

Transport: MORPH FOLDING WHEEL – Designed by Vitamins for Maddak Inc. Pete Collard, Curator of Designs of the Year comments:

‘Designs of the Year is the Design Museum’s authoritative review of the most innovative, forward-thinking and culturally relevant projects from the past twelve months. The work selected demonstrates the many ways in which design can transform our physical and cultural landscape.’

The seven winning designs will now compete for the overall Design of the Year 2013, to be announced on 16 April. The winning entries, along with all the shortlisted designs are on show at the Design Museum until 7 July.

Related Posts

Artic Biennale
Open Source Salon with Hauser and Wirth - A new monthly discussion group
Advertise your next show on Artlyst from £200 per week