Jarman Awards 2014 Shortlist Includes Turner Prize Nominee Marvin Gaye Chetwynd

The 2014 shortlist for the prestigious Jarman Awards has been announced in London. This is the only award of its kind where an artist is rewarded with both financial assistance to enable them to flourish and the phenomenal opportunity to broadcast their work on national television. The 2014 Shortlist announced On 8 July joins forces with Channel 4 in association with Whitechapel Gallery to present the ten-strong shortlist of UK-based contemporary artists for this year’s award: • John Akomfrah • Laura Buckley • Sebastian Buerkner • Marvin Gaye Chetwynd  • Steven Claydon • Redmond Entwistle • Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard • Ursula Mayer • Rachel Reupke  • Stephen Sutcliffe.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony on 8 December, hosted at Whitechapel Gallery. Before that, work by all shortlisted artists will be showing acr Following in the footsteps of previous winners Luke Fowler (2008), Lindsay Seers (2009), Emily Wardill (2010), Anya Kirschner & David Panos (2011), James Richards (2012) and John Smith (2013) the Film London Jarman Award winner will be announced at a special event at the Whitechapel Gallery, receiving combined prize money of £10,000 and a film commission for Channel 4’s short-form arts strand, Random Acts.

Three further artists will also be selected for Random Acts commissions, worth £4000 each. This is the only Award of its kind where an artist is rewarded with both financial assistance to enable them to flourish and the opportunity to produce a new piece of work.

Nominated by experts across the UK contemporary film and arts sectors, the shortlist presents the work of 10 artists who use moving image in a range of diverse and uncompromising ways. It offers a comprehensive survey of the work and practice of UK based moving image artists, and celebrates the rich and eclectic array of work emerging in recent years.

The Jarman Award is an annual prize inspired by one of Britain’s most innovative, esteemed and controversial artists of the late 20th century, Derek Jarman. Celebrating the spirit of experimentation, imagination and inspiration in the work of UK artist film-makers, The Jarman Award recognises individual artist film-makers whose risk-taking work resists boundaries and conventional definition – work that encompasses innovation, excellence and vision.

The purpose of the award is open-ended — an investment in the career of an individual enabling a period of experimentation without pressure. The award shines a light on artist film-makers who are to our times what Jarman was to his. Any mid-career artist film-maker whose work embraces the spirit and the legacy of Jarman’s highly experimental and risk-taking approach can be put forward for this annual prize. The winner of the annual Award not only receives a £10,000 cash prize, they also win a broadcast commission — to produce a series of film artworks for Channel 4.

Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, one of the best-known performance artists in Britain. Nominated for the Turner Prize in 2012 (when she was known as Spartacus Chetwynd), she stages exuberant, anarchic performances in which everything from Dante and Karl Marx to drag acts and Stars Wars are drawn together to explore issues including gender politics and personal debt.

Related Posts

London Art Fair: Celebrating 30 years - 17-21 January 2017 - Book Now
Rainsongs, the new book by Sue Hubbard, out now
Claudio Crismani in concert - 25 January 2018, 6:30pm / St Stephen Walbrook
Open Source Salon with Hauser and Wirth - A new monthly discussion group
Advertise your next show on Artlyst from £200 per week