Artists shortlisted for largest open prize dedicated to art from the Northern regions

New Light, a forward thinking charity that exists to support talented contemporary artists in the North of England, is delighted to announce the artists selected to exhibit their work in the New Light Prize Exhibition 2015, which this year will tour to a trio of high profile galleries across the country, opening at the Bowes Museum in County Durham from 17 October 2015 – 7 February 2016.

New Light received a record number of submissions this year for deliberation by the distinguished panel, comprising: Norman Ackroyd CBE RA, artist and organiser of the Royal Academy’s Summer Exhibition; The Lord Crathorne KCVO Kst J FSA LLD, Chairman of the All-Party Parliamentary Arts & Heritage Group; Laura Gascoigne, art reviewer; Matthew Hall, Co-Founder, Panter & Hall; and Annette Petchey, Chief Executive, New Light. 

The biennial New Light Prize Exhibition is the largest open prize dedicated to art from the Northern regions. It is open to all artists who were born, studied or live in one of the historical counties of the North of England. It recognises and rewards the skills of talented artists in the North and awards the region’s best prizes and exhibition opportunities.


The judges selected a total of 84 works by 61 artists which following the Bowes Museum exhibition will tour to the Mercer Gallery, Harrogate, in February after which a selection of the works will travel to Panter & Hall Gallery, London in June.

Art reviewer and 2015 Judge, Laura Gascoigne, reflects: “True to its name, New Light is a revelation. None of the open exhibitions I’ve judged in the past has tapped into such a pool of undiscovered talent. There are always a few established artists whose work one recognises, but nearly all the artists here were new to me and there were several I was astonished – and rather ashamed – not to have come across. I hope this exposure will make them more visible in future. The sheer variety of work, at all levels, was heartening – it bolstered my faith in the vigour of British painting.”


The artists selected to show in this year’s exhibition are:

  Michael Ashcroft

  Henna Asikainen

  Jake Attree

  Sarah Jane Bellwood

  Laney Birkhead

  Neil Bousfield

  Gareth Bunting

  John Byrne

  David Chandler

  Helen Clapcott

  Anthony Connolly

  David Cook

  Hester Cox

  Anne Desmet RA

  David Dodsworth

  Maxwell Doig

 Alan Flood

  Brian Gallagher

  Sarah Garforth

  Sally Gatie

  Rachel Gibson

  Pam Grimmond

  Peter Holt

  Glenn Ibbitson

  Andres Jaroslavsky

  Peter Knight

  Steven Lawler

  Emma Lawrenson

  Peter Layzell

  Paul Lewin

  Debbie Loane

  Moira McTague

  Hugh Miller

  David Morris

  James Naughton

  Tony Noble

  Zosia Olenska

  Mandy Payne

  Genevieve Pennington

  Anja Percival

  Anna Poulton

  Peter Quinn

  Chris Rigby

  John Ross

  Jonny Shaw

  Lotty Alexander Smith

  Louis Smith

  Paul Stone

  Alan Stones

  Kate Sully

  Jo Taylor

  Chris Thomas

  David Thomas

  Andrew Thursfield

  Robyn Townsend

  Joshua Waterhouse

  William Watson-West

  Patsy Whiting

  Lynne Wixon

  Christopher P Wood

  Tom Wood

Related Posts

Jerry Kaye - Look good, feel good
Follow Artlyst on Instagram
Artlyst Benefit screen prints by Simon Patterson. Exclusive Editions
Open Source Salon with Hauser and Wirth - A new monthly discussion group
Advertise your next show on Artlyst from £200 per week