Turner Prize

Turner prize shortlist: Tate Britain

Susan Philipsz, Angela de la Cruz, Dexter Dalwood and the Otolith Group

The Turner Prize, now in its 26th year, is arguably the world’s most recognised and prestigious award for contemporary art. The exhibition presents the very best of current British visual art with the intention of stimulating a lively exchange of opinions. This is your chance to discover what’s new in British art now.

The prize is awarded to an artist under fifty, born, living or working in Britain, for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation in the twelve months before 28 April 2010.

Nominations are invited each year, and the prize is judged by an independent jury that changes annually. Four artists are shortlisted and they present works in a show normally held at Tate Britain before the winner is announced in December. The artists are not judged on their show at Tate – the decision is based on the work they were nominated for.


The members of the Turner Prize 2010 Jury are:

Isabel Carlos, Director, Centro de Arte Moderna José de Azeredo Perdigão, Lisbon
Philip Hensher, Novelist, critic and journalist
Andrew Nairne, Executive Director, Arts Strategy, Arts Council England, London
Polly Staple, Director, Chisenhale Gallery, London

Read More….

Duration 05 October 2010 - 03 January 2011
Times Opening: October 5th 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM Monday - Sunday 10am - 5:50pm
Cost Free
Venue Tate Britain
Address Millbank London SW1P 4RG, ,
Contact 020 7887 8888 / visiting.britain@tate.org.uk / www.tate.org.uk/britain/information/

Related Events

Jerry Kaye - Look good, feel good
Follow Artlyst on Instagram
Artlyst Benefit screen prints by Simon Patterson. Exclusive Editions
IAP • Fine Art - Christ Gollon Gimme Some Wine
Open Source Salon with Hauser and Wirth - A new monthly discussion group
Advertise your next show on Artlyst from £200 per week